Four types of Bhakta

One who practices Bhakti is called a Bhakta.

Bhakti emphasises devotion and practice above ritual.

The Sanskrit Bhakti is derived from the verbal root bhaj, meaning “to share in”, “to belong to”, and “to worship”.

There are four types of Bhakta.

  • Aarta (Complainant/Petitioner)
  • Artharthi (Seeker of material benefit)
  • Jigyasu (The curious)
  • Gyani (The philosopher)